Joe Maxwell Chairman

Ann Wagner Vice Chairwoman

Nick Myers Secretary



Redistricting Office 205 Jefferson Street Jefferson Building, Rm 1310 Jefferson City, MO 65101 573-751-1352 (Fax) 526-4811

HOUSE APPORTIONMENT COMMISSION

Minutes of Meeting

April 5, 2011 - 10:00 a.m. Missouri State Capitol Building, House Hearing Room 7

Commissioner Simmons from the Office of Administration (OA) called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. and welcomed the House Apportionment Commission members.

Commission members present were Trent Skaggs, Ann Wagner, Joe Maxwell, Marlene Davis, Paula Willmarth, Todd Patterson, Nate Kennedy, W. Mitchell Elliott, Thomas Wilsdon, David Courtway, Violet Corbett, Eddy Justus, Cindy O'Laughlin, James C. Thomas III, Nick Myers, Cheryl Hibbeler, and Jo Ann Karll. Commission member Chuck Caisley was absent.

OA Commissioner Simmons provided historical prospective on OA's support of the state legislative redistricting process, gave a brief description of the swearing in procedure and reviewed the agenda for the day.

Members were sworn by the Honorable Patricia Joyce, Presiding Judge, Circuit Court of Cole County, Missouri.

OA Commissioner Simmons then directed the Reapportionment Commission to elect officers from among their ranks. Commission member Ann Waggoner made a motion to elect Joe Maxwell as Chair, herself as Vice-Chair and Nick Myers as Secretary. Marlene E. Davis seconded the motion, no other nominations made, all nominees elected unanimously by voice vote.

T. Skaggs moves that Roberts Rules of Order be adopted with the following amendments: Meetings maybe called by the vote of 13 commissioners with provision for 10 days written notice to the Chair and Vice-Chair;

No proxy voting:

Chair may vote on all issues;

Passed on voice vote

Commissioner Karll made a motion to have all meetings recorded and transcribed. Motion seconded by A. Wagner. Motion Carried

C. Hibbler moves that the Commission comply with the Sunshine Law. Seconded by M. Davis J. Maxwell proposed an amendment to the motion, that OA would be responsible for posting notices in accordance with Section 610 and would provide the services for notices and would post electronically as well. Motion carried

Chairman Maxwell wanted to know who was responsible for posting the meeting(s) today. Was the Commission in compliance with Section 610 relating to the sunshine law? Commissioner of the Office of Administration indicated that OA posted the meeting notices for the two meetings. Commissioner Maxwell made a motion that OA would be responsible for posting notices in accordance with Section 610 and would provide the services for notices and would post electronically as well. Motion carried.

Commissioner Wagner made a motion to set the hearings for the House Apportionment Committee (HAC).

Dates: Thursday, April 28th in Jefferson City (afternoon)

Page 1 of 2 Minutes of meeting 4-5-2011 HAC

Monday, May 23rd in Springfield (afternoon) Tuesday, May 24th in Kansas City (am) Wednesday, May 25th in St. Louis (am) Joann Karll seconded the motion and it was approved unanimously.

Chairman Maxwell asked what constituted a quorum. Is there a requirement for a specific number of members to attend?

Jim Layton, Solicitor General, from the Attorney General's offices indicated that the Missouri Constitution does not specify and there is no requirement that everyone is in attendance. Generally a quorum consists of half plus one.

Chairman Maxwell requested OA assign staff to assist the Committee during Commission meetings.

Chairman Maxwell asked OA Commissioner Simmons to discuss the role of the OA redistricting staff.

Com. Simmons stated OA staff are assigned to the HAC with offices on the 13th floor of the Jefferson State Office Building in Jefferson City, MO, and "assistance of staff will be held in strictest confidence"

The HAC and the Senate Apportionment Commission will reconvene in a joint meeting later this afternoon April 5, 2011 at 12:30PM in the Governor's Office Building Room 470.

Motion for adjournment made by W.M. Elliott, 2nd by D. Courtway Meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m.