# HOUSE APPORTIONMENT COMMISSION Meeting

Draft Meeting Minutes August 12, 2011

Minutes were never approved because the body stood adjourned sine die at the conclusion of the meeting.

### **Opening**

The second meeting of the House Apportionment Commission was called to order at 10:05am on August 12, 2011 in Room 1310, Jefferson Office Building, Jefferson City, MO by Chairman Joe Maxwell.

**Present: House Apportionment Commissioners** ~ Chairman Joe Maxwell, Vice Chairwoman Ann Wagner, Secretary Nick Myers, Violet Corbett, David Courtway, Marlene Davis, W. Mitchell Elliott, Cheryl Hibbeler, Eddy Justice, JoAnn Karll, Nate Kennedy, Cindy O'Laughlin, Todd Patterson, Trent Skaggs, James Thomas III, Paula Willmarth, Thomas Wilsdon, and Chuck Caisley

## Meeting

#### I. Welcome, Official Statements and Comments (COURT RECORDED SESSION)

- The meeting was kicked off with welcome comments by Chairman Joe Maxwell. Court Recorded session proceeded.
- A meeting agenda and the mission of the House Apportionment Commission were briefly outlined. Commissioners adopted minutes from the July 18, 2011 working meeting.
- Vice Chairman Ann Wagner and Chairman Joe Maxwell delivered their presentations.
- Chairman Joe Maxwell called recess for small group, caucus discussion and lunch at 11:15a.m., court recorded session concluded.

#### II. Working Meeting and Next Action Steps

- Chairman Joe Maxwell reconvened the working meeting at 12:48p.m.
- Motion made by 1<sup>st</sup> district representative, ???, to adopt the most recent Democrat Map (version 8/11/2011) with a proposed addition, ???? , and was seconded by Commissioner Todd Patterson.
- Discussion: Commissioner ???? thanked her counterpart, Commissioner Violet Corbett, and that she appreciated the Commissioner's willingness to work with her throughout this process, and that she will be saddened if the courts have to decide the final plan. Commissioner Marlene Davis commended all the Commissioners for all their hard work and stated that she hoped to move forward. Commissioner JoAnn Karll thanked Commissioner David Courtway for his partnership in working within their district and that it was a pleasure working with all the Commissioners.
- Secretary Nick Myers called role and tallied the VOTE for the proposed motion:

Commissioner Violet Corbett - Yes Commissioner David Courtway - No Commissioner Marlene Davis - Yes Commissioner Cheryl Hibbeler - Yes Commissioner W. Mitchell Elliott - Yes Commissioner Eddie Justice - No Commissioner JoAnn Karll - Yes Commissioner Nate Kennedy - No Commissioner Cindy O'Laughlin - No Commissioner Todd Patterson - Yes Commissioner Trent Skaggs - Yes Commissioner James Thomas III - No Commissioner Paula Willmarth - Yes Commissioner Thomas Wilsdon - No Commissioner Chuck Caisley - No Secretary Nick Myers - No Vice Chairwoman Ann Wagner - No Chairman Joe Maxwell - Yes

\*Motion does not carry as 9 in favor and 9 opposed: Democrat Plan/Map not approved (See Attachment #1: Democrat Plan Map 8.11.11)

- Motion made by Commissioner Eddie Justice to approve the GOP Map (version 8-11-2011) and was seconded by Commissioner James Thomas III.
- Secretary Nick Myers called role and tallied the VOTE for the proposed motion:

Commissioner Violet Corbett - No Commissioner David Courtway - Yes Commissioner Marlene Davis - No Commissioner Chervl Hibbeler - No Commissioner W. Mitchell Elliott - No Commissioner Eddie Justice - Yes Commissioner JoAnn Karll - No Commissioner Nate Kennedy - Yes Commissioner Cindy O'Laughlin - Yes Commissioner Todd Patterson - No Commissioner Trent Skaggs - No Commissioner James Thomas III - Yes Commissioner Paula Willmarth - No Commissioner Thomas Wilsdon - Yes Commissioner Chuck Caisley - Yes Secretary Nick Myers - Yes Vice Chairwoman Ann Wagner - Yes Chairman Joe Maxwell - No

\*Motion does not carry as 9 in favor and 9 opposed: GOP Plan/Map not approved (See Attachment #2: GOP Plan Map 8.11.11)

- Vice Chairwoman Ann Wagner stated the Commission was at an impasse and must now move to next step, as outlined in the Constitution.
- Motion was made by Commissioner Chuck Caisley to conclude the working meeting and stand down as the official Commission, and continued to read, "I would like to make the motion that the Commission cannot agree upon a map and therefore, the Commission shall conclude all business today on August 12, 2011. However, in the event that the Democrat and Republican Commissioners

of any Congressional District work together to reach a signed agreement by August 18, 2011, regarding their respective district, then the Office of Administration shall post on the Redistricting Office website the product of that work. Chairman Maxwell and Vice Chairwoman Wagner shall be permitted to sign the necessary documentation required by the Secretary of State's Office (to discharge the Commission). We encourage the Chief Justice of the State Supreme Court to begin the Constitutional duties bestowed upon him and appoint the Judicial House Reapportionment Commission as soon as possible. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Mitchell Elliot.

- Discussion: Commissioner Cheryl Hibbeler asked that the maps posted on the OA website be called "a map" has been concluded and posted as an agreement between the Democrats and Republicans; certain documents/work that have to be done. Commissioner Marlene Davis stated that we have not been allowed to work and put changes out there and may create chaos for some people out there, and places the Commission in a light of reckless and irrational behavior and she is saddened by this outcome and had hoped to come to an agreement. Commissioner Trent Skaggs recommended that an amendment to the motion (language in parenthesis denoted above) was needed, Commissioners agreed and it was amended as such.
- Further discussion: none.
- Secretary Nick Myers called role and tallied the VOTE for the proposed motion:

Commissioner Violet Corbett - Yes Commissioner David Courtway - Yes Commissioner Marlene Davis – No and then changed to Yes Commissioner Cheryl Hibbeler - Yes Commissioner W. Mitchell Elliott - Yes Commissioner Eddie Justice - Yes Commissioner JoAnn Karll - Yes Commissioner Nate Kennedy - No Commissioner Cindy O'Laughlin - Yes Commissioner Todd Patterson - Yes Commissioner Trent Skaggs - No Commissioner James Thomas III - Yes Commissioner Paula Willmarth - No Commissioner Thomas Wilsdon - Yes Commissioner Chuck Caisley - Yes Secretary Nick Myers - Yes Vice Chairwoman Ann Wagner - Yes Chairman Joe Maxwell – Yes

\*Motion passes as 15 in favor and 3 opposed: Commission approves to discharge without an agreed upon map.

## **Adjournment**

Motion to adjourn the meeting made by Commissioner Chuck Caisley, and seconded by Commissioner David Courtway. Meeting was adjourned at **1:18pm** by **Chairman Joe Maxwell**.

Minutes submitted by:

Gina N. Mauller, Director of Special Projects OA-ITSD

Approved by:

